Entries Tagged as '2010'

The 5th Annual Jim Tanner Classic July 5, 2011

Thank you for the 168 participants in the 4th annual Jim Tanner Caddy Classic. We raised $9,000 for the Jim Tanner Scholarship.  All had a good time despite the record setting 103 degree temperatures.

The 2011 version will be held on Tuesday, July 5th with an 8:00 shotgun and a 1:30 shotgun.  We will have a shared luncheon and will also have a presentation at the end of the day in the ballroom.

We also plan a reception on Monday July 4th from 4:00 to 7:00.  We will have hors d’ouevres and bar service on the patio.  We will have some chipping contests from the first tee, so that all can participate.

The participation has grown from 24 to 68 to 132 to 168 and my guess that in 2011 we will have 200!

My special thanks to the many contributors to the success of the Jim Tanner Caddy Classic.  Kevin Fortin, John Markley and Chris O’Neill have all been great committee members.  In 2010 we met 8 times planning the event. Also, special thanks to Sandy Markley for the record keeping and mailing.

If you know that you plan on playing in 2011, please send an email or call me at 401-597-5099.  Email = info@jimtannercaddyclassic.com

Special thanks to Benny Martin for providing the commemorative hats. Uncle Benny told me that the 2011 hats will be very special.

Columbus Day Invitational

28 played in a Columbus Day Invitational Monday October 11, 2010 at Pawtucket CC. Friends of Jim Tanner and PCC played a team best ball tournament. Teams included: 1 Ed Emond, Tom Orchel, Bob Taylor & John Winters 2 Peter Nash, Steve Messina, Jay Gonsalves & Mark Niska 3 Brian Lamarre, Jim Heroux, Heroux Jr and Ken Machado 4 Rod MacKenzie, Gary Reis, Bill Gagnon & Paul Treanor 5 Al Pellegrini, Bruce MacKenzie, John Markley & Mike Audette 6 Dan McDermott, Mike Whitehead, Richard Whitehead & Sal Schembre 7 Dave Kalafarski, Paul Sherry, Thom Ciocci & John Mesrobian.

Closest to pin on 15th hole was won by Bill Gagnon at 4 feet 10 inches.  Two gross eagles were recorded by Al Pellegrini on 10 and Mike Audette on 11.

5th Annual JT Classic to be played Tuesday July 5th 2011

The Pawtucket Country Club Board has approved Tuesday July 5, 2011 for the fifth annual Jim Tanner Caddy Classic. We plan an 8AM and  1:30PM shotgun with a reception on Monday night July 4th from 4PM to 7PM.

2010 Player videos

Click on link below –

2010 Player videos

Ocean State Golf August 2010


Page 17 Jim Tanner Caddy Classic recap

Terry O’Neill receives first Jim Tanner Scholarship

Terry wins first Jim Tanner Scholarship

Terry wins first Jim Tanner Scholarship

2010 Winners

JT Classic AM Winners

Closest to the Pin #5 Brian Lamarre

Closest to the Pin #7 Rinda Manfredi

Closest to the Pin #13 Licia Langford

Closest to the Pin #15 Jay Gendron

Long Drive #18 Tim Mailloux

3rd Net 59 Al Pelligrini Bob Walls

Joe Bradshaw Charlie Karboski

2nd Net 59 Tim Mailloux Nick Maresca

Jim King Jay Frechette

1st Net 58 Jim Fitsimmons Bob Welsh

Brandon Tersiville Bruce MacKenzie

1st Gross 66 Roland Snead Brian Lamarre

Don Morin Bill Machala

JT Caddy Classic PM Winners

Closest to the Pin #5 Al Vitali

Closest to the Pin #7 Bill Fischer

Closest to the Pin #13 Pete O’Neill

Closest to the Pin #15 Neil Flynn

Long Drive #18 Chris O’Neill

3rd Net Team 57 Jim Noonan Paul Sherry

Marty Payton Joe Murray

2nd Net Team 57 Chick Gorman Ray Gorman

Jack Quinn Jim Quinn

1st Net Team 57 Chris O’Neill Bob Savoie

Gary Reis Bill Gagnon

1st Gross Team         61 Peter O’Neill Bob Pommenville

Les Kennedy Jr. Steve O’Brien

Pictures of JT Classic 2010

Click on link below to view pictures:


JT Caddy Classic results 2010

The fourth annual Jim Tanner Caddy Classic was played on Tuesday July 6, 2010 with temperatures reaching 102. We had 72 players in the morning and 92 in the afternoon. Although the heat was a factor for some, a few performed exceptionally well. The afternoon foursome of Peter O’Neill, Les Kennedy, Jr., Steve O’Brien, and Bob Pommenville scored a gross 61 or 8 under par. Kevin Fortin noted that Les Sr. had accomplished that score on his own ball with a double bogey on the sixth. That course record stands today. (www.jimtannercaddyclassic.com)

Peter O’Neill scored an individual low gross of 66. Bob Kando scored a personal best with a 73. Jim Quinn played his first JT Classic recording a 78, another personal record after driving from his home in New Jersey the day earlier.

The featured foursome for the day included Jim Tanner, Norm Lutz, Stan Abrams and Stan Baluik.

Terrence O’Neill was introduced as the first Jim Tanner Scholar. Terry will be attending URI in the fall. Also receiving Burke Fund Scholarships were Michael S. Capineri, who just finished his freshman year at Boston College and Julia G. Spencer. Julia will be attending the Isenberg School of Management at UMass Amherst. The three scholars work at Pawtucket Country Club.

The common threads among the participants in the Jim Tanner Caddy Classic are caddying and playing at Pawtucket Country Club. Many consider Jim Tanner a mentor and all consider JT a good friend. Jim recently was inducted into the Professional Caddy Hall of Fame recognizing over 60 years of service at Pawtucket Country Club. Other members of the PCA Hall include Gene Sarazen, Francis Ouimet, Eddie Lowery, Harvey Pennick, and Mike “Fluff” Cowan. (www.pcaworldwide.com)

Special thanks to all our contributors that helped us raise $9,000 for the Jim Tanner Scholarship this year.

Z-man wins chipping contest

Zlatomir Kircanski won the 50/50 chipping contest by 2 inches with a 65 yard chip over the pond to the putting green measuring 8 feet from the hole.  Z-man beat Chris O’Neill in the finals winning $60.  Congratulations Z!

Shotgun start tomorrow morning June 6, 2010 at 8AM and 2PM.  We have 17 foursomes in the morning and 24 foursomes in the afternoon.  164 players will compete in the 4th annual Jim Tanner Caddy Classic.